Post - Articles

£75 billion for UK’s biggest offshore wind programme

  • 12 years ago (2010-01-12)
  • David Flin
Europe 934 Renewables 702

The nine winning bidders are:

Environment and Development Forum 2022
More info

Environment and Development Forum 2022

  • Moray Offshore Renewables. Moray Firth Zone – 1.3GW.
  • SeaGreen Wind Energy. Firth of Forth Zone – 3.5GW.
  • Forewind Consortium, equally owned by SSE Renewables, RWE Npower Renewables, Statoil and Statkraft. Dogger Bank Zone – 9GW.
  • Siemens Project Ventures and Mainstream Renewable Power. Hornsea Zone – 4GW.
  • East Anglia Offshore Wind, equally owned by Scottish Power Renewables and Vattenfall Vindkraft. Norfolk Bank Zone – 7.2GW.
  • Eon Climate and Renewables . Hastings Zone – 0.6GW.
  • Eneco New Energy. West of Isle of Wight Zone – 0.9GW.
  • RWE Npower Renewables. Bristol Channel Zone – 1.5GW.
  • Centrica Renewable Energy and RES Group. Irish Sea Zone – 4.2GW.

Another issue is that existing subsidies for offshore wind are only guaranteed until 2014, but very few of the round three projects will have begun operating by then.